Everything You Need to Know About the Updated ISO Flexo Standard

FTA Member Webinar logo

Thursday, July 11
11:00 a.m. – noon ET
Free for FTA Members

FIRST is a flexo standard.” Wrong! Often, people refer to FIRST as a standard but in fact it is a specification—Flexographic Image Reproduction Specifications and Tolerances. However, FIRST does reference many standards throughout the book.

But hey, did you know there actually is an ISO Standard for flexographic printing? In fact, brand owners need you to comply with this standard! ISO 12647-6 Flexographic Printing contains an enormous amount of technical information and is currently being revised for 2019.

Come join Steve Smiley and Dr. Danny Rich as they take a deep look at this flexographically important standard and share with us the changes that are coming in this year’s revision.

Register to Attend
Unable to make it? Watch the webinar on MemberConnect.

Bring your questions! You’ll be able to submit them directly to our presenters for a live Q&A session during the webinar.

About Our Presenters

headshot Steve Smiley 2019

Steve Smiley, SmileyColor & Associates LLC

Steve Smiley is a 35-year veteran from print, premedia and packaging brand solutions. Steve’s previous position was managing color across all printing types, commercial, direct mail and packaging in a $2 billion global printing company, managing print globally. Steve is a proud member of the FTA family, participating at Forums regularly. He has worked as an editor on all editions of FIRST, supported the FIRST Committee, chaired the FQC from 2002 to 2006, and chaired Fall Conference 2004. Currently the FTA’s delegate for ISO TC130, ICC, ANSI_CGATS, and GWG. Provided document for Flexo magazine and presented several times at FTA. He is the recipient of the Holzinger Award, FTA President’s Award in 2005 and the Clemson Top Cat Award in 2003. In 2017, he was inducted into the FTA Hall of Fame.

Danny Rich headshot square

Dr. Danny Rich, Sun Chemical Corp

Dr. Danny Rich obtained a master’s degree in physics in 1977 from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University in Blacksburg, VA, and in 1980 completed a Ph.D. at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. In 1998, he joined Sun Chemical Corp to direct the Sun Chemical Color Research Laboratory in the Daniel J. Carlick Technical Center in Carlstadt, NJ. He has been awarded the Nickerson Service award from the Inter-Society Color Council in 1999, the National Printing Ink Manufacturers award for Technical Achievement in 2008, a Thomas Alva Edison award for innovation by the Research Council of New Jersey in 2008, the Robert F. Reed Medal from the Printing Industries of America in 2013, the Mattiello Memorial Award from the American Coatings Association in 2015, and both the Inter-Society Color Council’s (ISCC) Godlove Award and an FTA President’s Award in 2019.