Winners Circle for Phoenix Challenge High School Competition

Phoenix Challenge photoCHARLOTTE, NC—After a spirited, multi-functional event at the 2013 International Phoenix Challenge High School Flexo Competition, prizes were awarded to this year’s top performers. First-place was awarded to Andrew Mandeville and Alex Yelton of Enka High School, Chandler, North Carolina.

The pair won the first place award by earning the highest combined scores in the two and a half day competition which included five areas of testing: (1) operating a flexo press, (2) prepress, (3) plate making, (4) written knowledge, and (5) flexo math skills. Along with the first place honor, each member of the team will receive a $1,000 Phoenix Challenge Foundation Scholarship, and they will take home the Harper Flexo High School of the Year trophy cup, for display at the school.

Other top performing students excelled in all aspects of the competition. Second place went to Patrick Wilson and Andrew Fox of Asheville High School, Asheville, North Carolina. Third place went to Jada Martin and Vincent Frank from Fairfield Career & Technology Center, Winnsboro, South Carolina.

The competition was stiff among top performers from all over North America. A total of 18  teams participated, a number which has grown year over year since the Phoenix Challenge high school program began back in 1998.

Bettylyn Krafft commented, “The rivalry gets more challenging every year as the best high school students in the United States and Canada showcase their flexo skills. This year was exciting with teams from the Carolinas really heating things up.”

Major sponsors of the 2013 Phoenix Challenge High School competition include:

  • 3M
  • Anderson & Vreeland Inc.
  • Avery Dennison
  • Bryce Corporation
  • Canadian Flexography Training Committee (CFTC)
  • CentralPiedmontCommunity College (CPCC)
  • Cyber Graphics LLC
  • DIP Industries
  • Environmental Inks & Coatings
  • Flexo Concepts
  • Harper Corporation of America
  • Overnight Labels
  • Mark Andy
  • Max Daetwyler
  • Phototype
  • Robbie Flexo
  • RotoMetrics
  • Southern Graphics
  • UPM Raflatac

For additional information or to donate to the Phoenix Challenge Foundation, please contact Bettylyn Krafft (704-309-3748).