Two Individuals Receive the 2019 FTA President’s Award

NEW ORLEANS – May 5, 2019 – FTA honored two important individuals of the FTA membership base with the 2019 President’s Award. Katie Graham of Pamarco and Dr. Danny Rich of Sun Chemical Corp were each recognized at tonight’s Awards Banquet, held in conjunction with the Association’s Forum & INFOFLEX 2019 inside the Grand Ballroom at the Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel.

Katie, currently the marketing and communications manager at Pamarco, is an avid member of the FTA Supplier Leadership Council, Membership Committee and Emerging Leaders Committee. Even more recent, Katie is co-chairing a brand new initiative with Dr. Nona Woolbright, “Women in Flexo,” that will be holding its first meeting at Forum 2019. Katie’s eagerness to help is a prevalent theme in all she does for FTA, including her participation as an expert judge in the FTA Excellence in Flexography Awards Competition.

“I appreciate the exposure to so many different areas of print. Most of all, the experienced team of judges I get to work with has made a big impact on me,” says Katie. “Working with a legend like Arleen Neustein, hearing her perspective as a woman within this industry (and before it was cool to be a woman in this industry) has been a privilege.”

Dr. Danny Rich is the senior color physicist in the Color Research Laboratory at Sun Chemical Corp. The value of his contributions to FTA including his work with the Flexo Quality Consortium (FQC), as a founding member of the Standards Working Group (SWG), and most recently joining the FQC Executive Committee, Danny’s commitment to the association is immeasurable. Danny is also an ongoing contributor to FLEXO Magazine, most recently publishing an article in its April 2019 issue titled, “The Lengthy, Specific & Complicated Process to Codify an International Standard.”

Past President’s Award recipient and chair of the FQC Executive Committee, Jean Engelke shared that Danny has “the unique ability to break down very complex technical concepts and present them to FTA members so that they are able to understand them and, often times, do so with a high degree of humor and entertainment.”

FTA is proud to recognize Katie and Danny for their exemplary contributions, including their time and professional knowledge of the package printing industry, in order to help keep this organization pushing the industry forward. Read more about the two 2019 FTA President’s Award recipients in FLEXO Magazine’s May issue.

# # #

About FTA: Chartered in 1958, FTA is a professional society dedicated to bringing all members of the flexographic printing community—printers, suppliers, consumer product companies, institutions, prepress houses and others–together by providing opportunities for the free exchange of technical ideas and discussion of mutual concerns. It is a proponent of maintaining and advancing quality standards and includes 1,350 member sites that represent more than 35,000 individuals. Foundation of FTA, founded in 1974, is the educational arm of FTA and is dedicated to supporting and advancing the flexographic printing industry.